Cultivating Passion for Life…

Having spent more than twenty years as a horticulturalist before I became a Smithsonian botanical artist, and another ten years after that becoming a voice for the rainforest, this piece symbolizes my vision for the future, while telling a story from my past…

I grew this passionflower in my greenhouse in 1983, and took a picture of it, in case I’d want to paint it someday. In 2002 I was commissioned to illustrate a book on the healing plants of the Amazon rainforest, and used it for my reference. In 2009 I translated the image into a textile design and printed it on silk, which I now offer as part of a social enterprise to renew the rainforest where I was born – Mata Atlantica.

This painting represents my Passion for Life, and the hope that women around the world will see this as a symbol of the power we carry to renew hope and possibility for future generations.

Leave a Reply

